Source: Nicole Yamase

Marine Biology Graduate Faculty


Because the Marine Biology Graduate Program is an interdisciplinary program, we have the advantage of being represented by faculty from both the College of Natural Sciences and the School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology, which includes UH-funded faculty at the Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology.

Regular and Cooperating
Rosie Alegado photo

Rosanna Alegado

ralegado@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Microbiology, immunology
Anthony Amend photo

Anthony Amend

amend@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Botany, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Mycology, molecular ecology
JIm Beets photo

James Beets

beets@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Marine Science, UH Hilo

MBGP Status: Cooperating

Research: Tropical marine ecology, fish/fisheries ecology
Lars Bejder photo

Lars Bejder

lbejder@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Empirical and applied research which supports conservation and management of marine megafauna. Population dynamics; behavioral ecology; abundance estimation; identification of management units; use of innovative technology to quantify fine-scale habitat use, movements, and body condition of marine mammals
Stacks Image 4463934

Brian Bowen

bbowen@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoaography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Evolution and conservation genetics of marine organisms

Julie Brock

jbrock@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Zoology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine invertebrates; coral reef polychaetes; anchialine communities; pollution ecology
Kathleen Cole photo

Kathleen Cole

colek@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Zoology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Ichthyology, behavioral ecology, reproductive biology, morphology and morphogenesis, space biology

Edward DeLong

edelong@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Physiology, biochemistry, & microbial evolution & ecology. Environmental science & biogeochemical cycles. Genomic analyses of microbial evolution, ecology & natural history. Systems biology of natural microbial populations
Stuart Donachie photo

Stuart Donachie

donachie@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Microbiology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine microbiology and microbial diversity

Megan Donahue

donahuem@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Spatial population dynamics of marine systems
Jeff Drazen photo

Jeffrey Drazen

jdrazen@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Pelagic fisheries

Kyle Edwards

kfe@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Ecology of phytoplankton, and planktonic and benthic communities in general; Theoretical ecology and synthesis of models with empirical research; Ecological statistics
Erik Franklin photo

Erik Franklin

erik.franklin@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine Ecology, Coral Reefs, Fish and Fisheries, Computational and Quantitative Methods, Geospatial Modeling, Invasive Species, Restoration Ecology

Erica Goetze

egoetze@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine zooplankton ecology; dispersal & gene flow in marine plankton populations; evolution

Timothy Grabowski

tbg@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: US Geological Survey, Hawaii Cooperative Unit and UH Hilo

MBGP Status: Cooperating

Research: Behavioral/physiological & reproductive ecology, conservation of aquatic species, landscape ecology in aquatic & marine systems. Research methods: hydroacoustics, radio&acoustic telemetry, image analysis
Mark Hixon photo

Mark Hixon

hixonm@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Zoology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Behavioral / population / community ecology and conservation biology of coral reef species

Kim Holland

kholland@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Physiology, behavior, ecology of aquatic organisms

Cynthia Hunter

cindyh@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Microbiology, immunology

Jacob Johansen

jacob.johansen@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Fish behavior, Ecological physiology of fishes, Coral reef ecology, Anthropogenic disturbance, Conservation, Species response to pollution and climate change, Species distribution and abundance
Judith Lemus photo

Judith Lemus

jlemus@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Educational research and outreach programs in marine science; Programs for undergraduate and graduate students that enhance core professional competencies; Biochemical and physiological interactions in marine symbioses

Petra Lenz

petra@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Pacific Biosciences Research Center, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Plankton ecology; pelgaic copepods; neural ecology of zooplankton sensory systems
Elizabeth Madin photo

Elizabeth Madin

emadin@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine community ecology & food webs / fish behavior / predator-prey interactions / human impacts on coral reefs / emerging technologies for marine conservation

Joshua Madin

jmadin@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Quantitative ecology, biomechanics and informatics with an emphasis on coral reefs

Peter Marko

pmarko@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Zoology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Biogeography, evolution and conservation biology

Margaret McManus

mamc@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Coastal physical oceanography; marine ecology

Carl Meyer

carlm@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine Protected Area design; shark-human interactions; spawning migrations and foraging strategies of top predators; digestive physiology and navigational abilities of sharks

Amy Moran

morana@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Zoology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine ecology and evolution

Craig Nelson

craig.nelson@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Microbial systems biology; specifically the structure and function of natural bacterial communities in aquatic habitats such as coral reefs, lakes, streams, and the open ocean

Aude Pacini

aude@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Manoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine mammal sensory abilities; bioacoustics, empirical and applied research

Adam Pack

pack@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Biology and Psychology, UH Hilo

MBGP Status: Cooperating

Research: Marine mammal behavioral ecology; humpback whale and dolphin behavior, social organization, habitat use and communication; marine mammal cognition, animal learning, language and comparative cognition

Brian Popp

popp@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Geology and Geophysics, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Stable isotope biogeochemistry , marine organic geochemistry, isotpic biogeochemistry of individual biomarkers and gases

Megan Porter

mlporter@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Zoology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Genetic and developmental mechanisms that drive the evolution of visual systems in invertebrates; integrated studies of ecology, molecular networks, and cellular physiology

Michael Rappé

rappe@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Microbial oceanography, diversity and ecology of marine microorganisms, including seawater, coral-associated, and deep subsurface environments
Malia Rivera photo

Malia Rivera

maliar@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoaphy, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine science curriculum development and education research; place-based science inquiry; broadening participation in STEM; marine population genetics, terrestrial invertebrate systematics

Robert Richmond

richmond@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Pacific Biosciences Research Center, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Invertebrate zoology, conservation biology

Karen Selph

selph@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Biological oceanography, microbial ecology, protistan grazer feeding dynamics, phytoplankton distributions
Alison Sherwood photo

Alison Sherwood

asherwoo@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Botany, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Algal diversity, phylogeography, systematics, evolution and ecology of marine, freshwater and terrestrial algae of Hawaii

Celia Smith

celia@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Botany, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Physiological ecology of marine macrophytes, marine ecology, cell biology

Craig Smith

craigsmi@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Benthic ecology; ecology of sediments; benthic-pelagic coupling in Antarctic.

Grieg Steward

grieg@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Oceanography, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine bacteria and viruses, microbial genomics, molecular ecology and biogeochemical cycles

Misaki Takabayashi

misakita@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Marine Science, UH Hilo

MBGP Status: Cooperating

Research: Coral growth anomaly impacts on biological functions, epizootiology of anomalies, impacts on coral skeleton

Robert Toonen

toonen@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Hawaiʻi Institute of Marine Biology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Larval ecology, coral reef biology, evolution, phylogeography and conservation genetics of marine invertebrates

Timothy Tricas

tricas@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit:: Zoology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Marine animal behavior
Leslie Watling photo

Leslie Watling

watling@hawaii.edu

Alternative Department/Unit: Zoology, UH Mānoa

MBGP Status: Regular

Research: Deep sea Octocorals and their associates; biology of crustacea; conservation studies
Affiliate
Emeritus
© 2018 Marine Biology Graduate Program Contact Us