Source: Chris Wall

Our students (2018–2019)

Noam Altman-Kurosaki photo

Noam Altman-Kurosaki
Masters student

Research interests: Coral reef ecology, fisheries, herbivory

PI/Lab: Franklin

E-mail: noama@hawaii.edu

Lauren Arnold photo

Lauren Arnold
Masters student

Research interests: Mating behavior and ecology of Sandbar sharks (Carcharhinus plumbeus) using accelerometer & acoustic data, cameras and a portable ultrasound

PI/Lab: Meyer

E-mail: larnold2@hawaii.edu

Stacks Image 4464655

Chloe Blandino
Masters student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Meyer

E-mail:

Evan Barba photo

Evan Barba
Doctoral student

Research interests: Population genetics of adaptation, archipelago-wide genomic differentiation, cryptofaunal community responses to reefscape change; bioinformatics, data science

PI/Lab: Toonen

E-mail: ewbarba@hawaii.edu

Yvonne Barkley photo

Yvonne Barkley
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Franklin

E-mail: ybarkley@hawaii.edu

Alexandria Barkman photo

Alexandria Barkman
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Richmond

E-mail: abarkman@hawaii.edu

Carlo Caruso photo

Carlo Caruso
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Gates

E-mail: carusoc@hawaii.edu

Scott Chulakote photo

Scott Chulakote
Masters student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Celia Smith

E-mail: scottsyc@hawaii.edu

Anne Chung photo

Anne Chung
Doctoral student

Research interests: marine resource management, coral reef resilience

PI/Lab: Hunter

E-mail: anneer@hawaii.edu

Bethany Coffey photo

Bethany Coffey
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Tricas

E-mail: bncoffey@hawaii.edu

Daniel Coffey photo

Daniel Coffey
Doctoral student

Research interests: how marine predators utilize and move through their environment; underlying ecological and physiological mechanisms driving behavior of marine predators

PI/Lab: Holland

E-mail: dcoffey@hawaii.edu

Chelsie Counsell photo

Chelsie Counsell
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Donahue

E-mail: counsell@hawaii.edu

Laura Damiani photo

Laura Damiani
Masters student

Research interests: Coral reef ecology, ecotoxicology, marine conservation

PI/Lab: Richmond

E-mail: ldamiani@hawaii.edu

Eric Dilley photo

Eric Dilley
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Hixon

E-mail: edilley@hawaii.edu

Stacks Image 4464670

Brittany Evans
Masters student

Research interests: Fish biology and ecology

PI/Lab: Meyer

E-mail: bnevans@hawaii.edu

Lev Gerstle photo

Lev Gerstle
Masters student

Research interests: coral biology, how corals adapt to climate change, plasticity in corals of Hawaii, how generational plasticity may allow for rapid adaptations

PI/Lab: Brock

E-mail: lev.gerstle@gmail.com

Carla Gimpel photo

Carla Gimpel
Doctoral student

Research interests: Microbial oceanography & ecology

PI/Lab: DeLong

E-mail: cgimpel@hawaii.edu

Scott Goldberg photo

Scott Goldberg
Masters student

Research interests: coral reef ecology, the impact of corallivores on coral health

PI/Lab: Hunter

E-mail: scottgol@hawaii.edu

Stacks Image 4464661

Nakoa Goo
Masters student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Toonen

E-mail:

Emmett (Mike) Henley photo

Emmett (Mike) Henley
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Hagedorn

E-mail: emhenley@hawaii.edu

Michael Hoban photo

Michael Hoban
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Bowen

E-mail: mhoban@hawaii.edu

Ariana Huffmyer photo

Ariana Huffmyer
Doctoral student

Research interests: coral biology and science education (specifically, early life history in corals and the influence of research experiences on student science identities)

PI/Lab: Lemus and Gates

E-mail: ashuff@hawaii.edu

Kaitlyn Jacobs photo

Kaitlyn Jacobs
Masters student

Research interests: Reef ecosystem ecology, marine conservation and management

PI/Lab: Hunter

E-mail: kjacobs8@hawaii.edu

Trevor Johannsen photo

Trevor Johannsen
Masters student

Research interests: Coral reef ecology, conservation and management

PI/Lab: Hunter

E-mail: tjohanns@hawaii.edu

Erika Johnston photo

Erika Johnston
Doctoral student

Research interests: marine invertebrate evolution, coral, phylogenetics, phylogeography

PI/Lab: Toonen

E-mail: erikacj@hawaii.edu

Stacks Image 4464379

Keith Kamikawa
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Bowen

E-mail: ktk808@hawaii.edu

Derek Kraft photo

Derek Kraft
Doctoral student

Research interests: Using molecular techniques to identify population structure in vulnerable shark species, allowing decisions to be made on a stock-by-stock basis (the basis of successful wildlife management)

PI/Lab: Bowen

E-mail: kraftd@hawaii.edu

Anke Kuegler photo

Anke Kuegler
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Lammers

E-mail: akuegler@hawaii.edu

Florybeth La Valle photo

Florybeth La Valle
Doctoral student

Research interests: coastal community ecology, benthic ecology, effects of submarine groundwater discharge into coastal systems

PI/Lab: Nelson

E-mail: lavallef@hawaii.edu

Stacks Image 4464590

Abby Lapointe
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Watling

E-mail: abbylap@hawaii.edu

Becca Lensing photo

Becca Lensing
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab:

E-mail: blensing@hawaii.edu

Beth Lenz photo

Beth Lenz
Doctoral student

Research interests: Coral reef ecology, marine invertebrates, ecophysiology, coral restoration

PI/Lab: Gates

E-mail: ealenz@hawaii.edu

Elaine Luo photo

Elaine Luo
Doctoral student

Research interests: Spatiotemporal dynamics of bacteriophages and their hosts in the North Pacific Subtropical Gyre

PI/Lab: DeLong

E-mail: elaine.luo@hawaii.edu

Cassie Lyons photo

Cassie Lyons
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Bowen

E-mail: clyons@hawaii.edu

Shayle Matsuda photo

Shayle Matsuda
Doctoral student

Research interests: coral symbioses (partnerships between corals and the algae and bacteria that live within their tissues) and the effects of rising sea temperatures on corals (to develop solutions to help them survive)

PI/Lab: Gates

E-mail: shayle@hawaii.edu

Stacks Image 4464624

Toby Matthews
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Donahue

E-mail:

Marisa McDonald photo

Marisa McDonald
Doctoral student

Research interests: the physiology and anatomy of the visual systems of larval stomatopod crustaceans (mantis shrimp), with a focus on UV vision

PI/Lab: Porter

E-mail: marisam7@hawaii.edu

Megan McElligott photo

Megan McElligott
Doctoral student

Research interests: Marine mammal acoustics, behavior, and conservation

PI/Lab: Lammers & Pack

E-mail: meganmce@hawaii.edu

Elizabeth Moaghan photo

Elizabeth Monaghan
Masters student

Research interests: microbial biogeography, how microbial communities adapt to diverse systems, exploring the utility of cryopreservation for cultivation studies

PI/Lab: Rappe

E-mail: eamonagh@hawaii.edu

Kira Monell photo

Kira Monell
Masters student

Research interests: ecophysiology of copepods, understanding how copepods are influenced by changes in food abundance through the lens of transcriptomics

PI/Lab: Lenz

E-mail: kmonell@hawaii.edu

Stacks Image 4464572

Anthony Montgomery
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Toonen

E-mail: amont@hawaii.edu

Kanoe

Kanoe'ulalani Morishige
Doctoral student

Research interests: intertidal ecology; marine invertebrates; community-based marine resource management; traditional knowledge; coastal fisheries; reproductive seasonality

PI/Lab: Moran

E-mail: kimmhkm@hawaii.edu

Eileen Nalley photo

Eileen Nalley
Doctoral student

Research interests: anthropogenic impacts, land-based pollutants on coral reefs, functional homogenization, herbivorous reef fishes (particularly surgeonfishes), parasites, limu, metabarcoding

PI/Lab: Toonen

E-mail: enalley@hawaii.edu

Patrick Nichols photo

Patrick Nichols
Masters student

Research interests: Environmental DNA and coral reef molecular ecology

PI/Lab: Marko

E-mail: pkn@hawaii.edu

Ryan Nichols photo

Ryan Nichols
Masters student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Franklin

E-mail: nicholsr@hawaii.edu

Megan Onuma photo

Megan Onuma
Masters student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Celia Smith

E-mail: monuma@hawaii.edu

Zack Oyafuso photo

Zack Oyafuso
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Franklin

E-mail: oyafusoz@hawaii.edu

Sitara Pelecanda photo

Sitara Palecanda
Doctoral student

Research interests: Visual systems of larval stomatopod crustaceans. Particularly the molecular components which change between larval and adult stages as well as how larval vision affects movement in the water column

PI/Lab: Porter

E-mail: spalecan@hawaii.edu

Stacks Image 4464668

Kirsten Poff
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: DeLong

E-mail:

Angela Richards Donà photo

Angela Richards Donà
Doctoral student

Research interests: Physiology, photophysiology, histopathology, and ecology of corals

PI/Lab: Hunter

E-mail: angelard@hawaii.edu

Mariana Rocha de Souza photo

Mariana Rocha de Souza
Doctoral student

Research interests: Coral symbiosis, coral reef molecular ecology, marine invertebrates, biogeography, e-DNA, climate change

PI/Lab: Gates

E-mail: mrds@hawaii.edu

Christina Runyon photo

Christina Runyon
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Callahan

E-mail: runyon@hawaii.edu

Stephen Scherrer photo

Stephen Scherrer
Doctoral student

Research interests: Spatial management and ecology of fishes and sharks

PI/Lab: Weng

E-mail: scherrer@hawaii.edu

Emily Sesno photo

Emily Sesno
Masters student

Research interests: Sea urchin response to climate change, science communication, conservation and sustainability

PI/Lab: Lemus

E-mail: sesno@hawaii.edu

Wesley Sparagon photo

Wesley Sparagon
Doctoral student

Research interests: Microbial ecology in marine systems, biogeochemistry, interactions of multiple stressors

PI/Lab: Nelson

E-mail: sparagon@hawaii.edu

Katherine Stamler photo

Katherine Stamler
Masters student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Watling

E-mail: kstamler@hawaii.edu

Natalie Summers photo

Natalie Summers
Masters student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Watling

E-mail: nsummers@hawaii.edu

William (Hoaka) Thomas photo

Hoaka Thomas
Masters student

Research interests: choanoflagellate ecology, bacterial interactions with microeukaryotes, animal multicellularity, evolutionary biology, bioinformatics

PI/Lab: Alegado

E-mail: whthomas@hawaii.edu

Sarah Tucker photo

Sarah Tucker
Doctoral student

Research interests: marine microbial ecology, evolution, and population biology; abiotic and biotic drivers of their metabolisms and metabolic interactions; population characteristics of SAR11 bacteria

PI/Lab: Rappe

E-mail: tucker4@hawaii.edu

Ron Vave photo

Ron Vave
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Friedlander

E-mail: ronvave@hawaii.edu

Stacks Image 4464610

Fabien Vivier
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Bejder

E-mail:

Christopher Wall photo
Chris Wall
Doctoral student

Research interests: Reef corals, symbiotic mutualism, climate change, physiological ecology, stable isotope ecology

PI/Lab: Gates

E-mail: cbwall@hawaii.edu

Charley Westbrook photo

Charley Westbrook
Doctoral student

Research interests:

PI/Lab: Bowen

E-mail: charleye@hawaii.edu

Stacks Image 4464487
Phoebe Woodworth-Jefcoats
Doctoral student

Research interests: climate variation and change, size-based approaches to ecosystem analysis, pelagic marine fisheries

PI/Lab: Drazen

E-mail: pwoodwor@hawaii.edu

Shreya Yadav photo

Shreya Yadav
Doctoral student

Research interests: coral reef ecology, reef recovery, hydrodynamics, structural complexity, biocultural approaches, historical ecology

PI/Lab: Hunter

E-mail: shreyay@hawaii.edu

Nicole Yamase photo

Nicole Yamase
Doctoral student

Research interests: Effects of elevated temperature and CO2 on the growth and photosynthesis of macroalgae

PI/Lab: Celia Smith

E-mail: nyamase@hawaii.edu

Juli Zill photo

Julie Zill
Doctoral student

Research interests: coral reef ecology, direct and indirect effects of predator removal, trophic dynamics, reef fisheries

PI/Lab: Donahue

E-mail: jzill@hawaii.edu

© 2018 Marine Biology Graduate Program Contact Us